Forgive me, it’s been a while since I posted anything for Leaf and Bark, but boy did I miss it!  Your posting and views throughout a difficult chapter in my life kept me inspired to continue this page. While, simultaneously, writing for like-minded people passionate about the things I love, I am so honored to write amongst some of the best writers with passions of every kind. I have learned a lot from many of you.

A struggle with a two-year illness, compounded with the sadness of my mate’s mother suddenly hit with dementia, in addition to, a niece receiving her first kidney implant at 29 gone wrong, lead to an emotional roller-coaster for the family. With the weight of sadness, mostly on my mate, you never know how strong you are, until you have to be, not only to take care of yourself but be strong for others who love and depend on you. With a heavy heart, Leaf and Bark had to be placed on pause until further notice.

Every day, my mantra was  “This too shall soon pass,” and it did, but not as quickly as I had hope. Now fully recovered, with the Leaf and Bark Vintage Shop closed, I had a lot of time to ponder about my strengths vs. weaknesses, my best takeaways and next steps still unknown btw, but bare with me through this journey, I am still full of ideas.

One thing that will remain constant is my passion for writing, researching just about anything, history, and music and more. Being ill was a bummer, but it was also kind of a blessing. For one, it forced me to research food to buy, cook and eat healthy at affordable prices! I mean have you seen the prices and non-GMO and organic foods? After burning the pots and pans, I developed a passion for cooking Asian and Indian foods! Secondly, learning the art of being present in my role as mom supporting my teen with his grades and sports, prepared him for his next steps to high school. Finally, he is more confident, independent and focused than ever! Lastly, being face-to-face with the heartbreaks of dementia and kidney failure made me fight like hell for my own wellness. It’s made me more humble in caring for my own parent, totally independent, yet still aging. There are blessings and opportunities in everything!

One of my best friends used to tell me in my 20’s, I died in a car crash in the 50’s, because I remember almost all the songs of the 50’s. I think he is right!  I have always been a young person with an old soul. I will forever remain young at heart, yet still a Retromama! Without futher Adieu, I will leave with Nina Simone’s – Felling Good video credit#SambadaTed

